Thank You, Guardian Angel

Every night, I pray with my children that Jesus will give them only happy dreams and that their guardian angels will protect them, keep them safe, and bring them to Jesus.  I often wonder just how much hidden protection our guardian angels give us!

No evil shall befall you, nor shall affliction come near your tent, For to his angels he has given command about you, that they guard you in all your ways.  Psalm 91:10-11

In Matthew 18:10, Jesus says,

“See that you do not despise one of these little ones, for I say to you that their angels in heaven always look upon the face of my heavenly Father.”

Last week my guardian angel was laughing at me as I chased Heath (my 23-month-old) down my subdivision street.  Unfortunately for the people walking their dog, I only had on a shirt and underwear.   Somehow the gate was unlocked, and my 4 and 5-year-olds ran inside to let me know Heath had escaped!

Only seconds earlier, Heath was safely playing in the dirt right outside my kitchen window.  I was doing dishes and sweeping and hadn’t dressed yet.  In an instant, I dropped what I was doing and ran after Heath to catch him.  Thank you, Lord, that he didn’t get run over and that his big brother and sister saw him leave!

Heath’s angel certainly works overtime.  As a baby, he tumbled down our basement steps—once again, someone accidentally left the gate open—only to land two steps from the bottom, scared but unharmed.  It was as if his angel scooped him up and gently placed him down.  It made no sense that he had rolled down the steps but landed standing up!  You’ll never convince me it wasn’t Heath’s guardian angel who caught him.

Let us all remember to invoke our guardian angel and our children’s guardian angels for protection:

 

Angel of God,

Angel-Of-Love-angels-10152074-1024-768

My Guardian dear,

Guardi33an-Angel

To whom God’s love commits me here,

angels17

ever this day,

untitiled guardian angel child and cross

be at my side,

guardian-angel (6)

to light and guard,

the-guardian-angels-joshua-hargrave-sams-mann

to rule and guide,

Guar444dianAngel

Amen.

Linked up with Catholic Bloggers Network and Hearts for Home Blog Hop at Home to 4 Kiddos!

How exciting!  I received one of April’s “Big Click” awards for April! :)  Check out the other amazing April Big Clicks here at Catholic Bloggers Network.

7 responses to “Thank You, Guardian Angel

  1. I love this!! Just thinking of how many times our guardian angles have intervened brings me to tears.
    Poor thing running out in your underwear! Great story for later on though. :-)

    Like

    • Yes, it amazing thinking about our angels. :) I actually wish I could’ve seen how ridiculous I looked! That day started out crazy and was like that the whole day!

      Like

  2. Love this! What a great story! When I told my four year old that he had a guardian angel he started turning his head to look for him. “Where is he!?” I haven’t told him yet that there have been people who could see and/or hear their angels because I’m afraid that at this point he’d just get upset that he can’t. Thank God for our guardian angels and for everything they do to protect us and our families!

    Like

  3. Amen! I know with five boys (and two girls), our guardian angels are putting in over-time here! I now actually call upon them when I am occupied with duties that keep my eyes off the little ones. I worry less and God, in His infinite love and generosity, provides such loving help through our angels!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • That is a great idea to invoke the kids’ guardian angels when I am busy and can’t keep a super close eye on them. I’m sure, with 7 kids yourself, that you understand how sometimes they all have to look out for each other. Thanks for visiting! God bless.

      Like

  4. Pingback: 7QT’s: It’s All About Surviving, Baby! | The Fruitful Mama

Leave a Reply

